New York Phone Number Lookup

What are New York Area Codes and their Locations?

Recognizing area codes within New York, and the counties and cities they represent, may help to identify the location of a call and the owner of the phone number. This knowledge can equally help in evading fraudsters and scammers and using reverse phone lookup services more effectively. The table below summarizes the 19 area codes currently available for New York State:

212 - Location 646 - Location 934 - Location
315 - Location 680 - Location
332 - Location 716 - Location
347 - Location 718 - Location
516 - Location 838 - Location
518 - Location 845 - Location
585 - Location 914 - Location
607 - Location 917 - Location
631 - Location 929 - Location

Who Controls New York Area Codes?

In the United States, both federal and state authorities share the responsibility of allocating area codes. The North American Numbering Plan Administrator (NANP) is saddled with the responsibility of administering, assigning, and managing area codes.

The Federal Communications Commission (FCC) empowers the various state utility commissions to take charge of area code administration. In the state of New York, the Public Service Commission (PSC) handles all telecommunications services including area code management.

While some parts of New York have single area codes, others are assigned multiple codes. For example, Bronx (718, 929, 917 and 347), Brooklyn (718, 929, 917, and 347), Manhattan (646, 212 and 917), Queens (347, 917, 718 and 929) and Staten Island (347, 917, 718 and 929) all have four area codes each, with some of these overlapping.

The PSC is responsible for assigning area code overlays and splits in the state. An overlay code is one assigned to the same area covered by an area code to accommodate new phone numbers allocated in that part of the state. A split is a new area code that carves out the region covered by a pre-existing area code.

Where is Area Code 212?

Area code 212 is one of the original 86 area codes created in the country in 1947 and served all of New York City until 1984. Currently, it covers Manhattan in New York City except for the Marble Hill, a Manhattan neighborhood separated by the Harlem River Ship Canal. Area code 212 overlays areas covered by area codes 332 (created in 2017), 646 (1999), and 917 (1992).

Where is Area Code 315?

Area code 315 serves Syracuse, Utica, and Rome in the western part of northern New York. It serves the same coverage area alongside a single overlay 680 (created in 2017). The counties serviced by area code 315 include Onondaga, Oneida, St. Lawrence, Oswego, Jefferson, Madison, Cayuga, Herkimer, Wayne, Lewia, Ontario, Seneca, Yates, Fulton, Otsego and Chenango.

Where is Area Code 332?

Area code 332 is an overlay of area code 212 that serves Manhattan, New York City. In addition to  212, it also overlays with area codes 646 and 917.

Where is Area Code 347?

Area code 347 serves all of New York City except Manhattan. The area code is an overlay and covers the same locales as area code 718. The area code simultaneously caters for seven counties: Kings, Queens, Bronx, Richmond, Nassau, Westchester, New York; and 31 cities.

Where is Area Code 516?

Area code 516 is the sole area code that covers the portion of Long Island that is in Nassau County.

Where is Area Code 518?

Area code 518 covers the New York cities of Albany, Glen Falls, Saratoga Springs, and Plattsburg as well as communities in the northeastern part of the state. It is overlaid by area code 838.

Where is Area Code 585?

Rochester in New York City and its environs are serviced by area code 585 alone. The area code has no overlays and was introduced in 2001. It represents the following counties: Monroe, Ontario, Orleans, Livingston, Genesee, Wyoming, Allegany, and parts of Erie, Wayne, and Steuben.

Where is Area Code 607?

Area code 607 has a reach that covers Binghamton, Ithaca, Elmira, and the larger part of the southern portion of central New York. The area code services 15 counties: Broome, Tompkins, Steuben, Chemung, Otsego, Tioga, Cortland, Chenango, Delaware, Schuyler, Seneca, Allegany, Yates, Sullivan, Madison, and 112 cities in total.

Where is Area Code 631?

Area code 631 is for the south-eastern part of New York including Coram, Brentwood and West Babylon. Its sole overlay is area code 934 but it was created as a split from 516 in 1999. The area code only covers Suffolk county.

Where is Area Code 646?

Area code 646 is dedicated to Manhattan in New York City and overlays with area codes 212, 332, and 917.

Where is Area Code 680?

Area code 680 serves Utica, Syracuse, Watertown and the north central part of New York. Its sole overlay is the area code 315 from which it was created.

Where is Area Code 716?

One of the original 86 area codes created in 1947, area code 716 is the only area code for western tip of New York and covers Buffalo, Cheektowaga and Tonawanda. The area code covers parts of Cattaraugus, Erie, Niagara, and Chautauqua counties.

Where is Area Code 718?

Area code 718 covers all of New York City except Manhattan and overlays the same area as codes 347, 917, and 929. The area code has a coverage area that spans six counties: Kings, Queens, Bronx, Richmond, Nassau and New York.

Where is Area Code 838?

Area code 838 was created in 2017 as an overlay of  area code 518. It covers most of Upstate New York including Schenectady, Albany, and Essex counties. In all, the area code has a coverage area that spans 17 counties.

Where is Area Code 845?

Area 845 serves Poughkeepsie, Spring Valley, New City and southeastern New York. Area code 845 has a coverage area spanning all of Rockland, Orange, Putnam, and Ulster counties as well as parts of Westchester, Greene, Dutchess, Delaware, and Columbia counties.

Where is Area Code 914?

One of the original area codes created in the county, area code 914 now only serves Westchester county.

Where is Area Code 917?

Area code 917 serves all five counties of New York City: Kings, Queens, New York, Bronx, and Richmond. It was created in 1992 and overlays with area codes 212, 332, 347, 646, 718, and 929.

Where is Area Code 929?

Serving all of New York City except for Manhattan, area code 929 overlays with area codes 314, 718, and 917.

Where is Area Code 934?

Area code 934 is an overlay of area code 631 and covers Suffolk county exclusively.